Funded in 2013-14

In the 13th round of Graduate Student Life Grants, 18 new proposals out of the total 24 submitted were offered funding by the Office of the Dean for Graduate Education. To date, since this program was introduced in 2002, the Dean’s selection panel has reviewed 316 proposals and funded 201 of those. For more information, contact gslg@mit.edu.

 

RFP10.08 – Evenings Out – Babysitting Nights for MIT Families
(renewal)

By funding babysitting events several nights of the year at family residences, graduate students with families are able to participate more fully in the graduate community.

For more information, contact: Ami and Esti Yaacobi (westgate-gc@mit.edu)

 

RFP11.14 – SMArchS Cultural Event Series
(renewal)

This events series provides a chance for the diverse tracks within the MIT school of Architecture’s masters program to meet collectively and socialize at group dinners that will be planned as creative arts projects in and of themselves, as well as a series of formal debates on topics of interest to the SMArchS program.

For more information contact Caner Oktem (oktem@mit.edu)

 

RFP12.01 – Invertebrate Social Hour
(renewal)

Course 9 and Course 7 bring together labs across disciplines that are involved in invertebrate research, for the purposes of socializing and building research connections. It aims to introduce researchers with common interests who might not otherwise meet.

For more information, contact Megan Krench (mkrench@gmail.com)

RFP12.02 – Skydive Saturday
(renewal)

The MIT Skydiving Club organizes trips for students that are interested in trying skydiving. Students pay the dive fee, but the club handles all logistics, transportation, and food. There are also reunion events for participants to reconnect, meet other MIT students, and meet members of outdoor-activities groups at MIT.

For more information, contact Swati Varshney (svarsh19@mit.edu)

 

RFP12.04 – Festival of Learning
(renewal)

This event is a two-day festival for Media Arts and Science, Comparative Media Studies, and the program in Art, Culture, and Technology. Participants create projects, present research, get together for social and workshop events, and share meals together.

For more information, contact J. Nathan Matias (jnmatias@mit.edu)

 

RFP12.09 – Sept/May
(renewal)

This is an ongoing multi-project artistic series based in Cambridge that focuses on film, performance and architecture, and explores changing ideas of temporality and urban spaces.

For more information, see septmay.org or contact Austin Smith (austins@mit.edu)

 

RFP12.12 – Building 68 Coffee Break
(renewal)

Building 68 hosts monthly coffee socials for community members whose labs and offices are located there.

For more information, contact Jennifer Cherone (jcherone@mit.edu)

 

RFP12.15 – Climber Yoga + Social
(renewal)

The MIT climbing club hosts free yoga classes followed by healthy snacks (open to everyone, not just climbers). This provides an opportunity for physical activity, meeting other graduate students, and raising interest in the opportunities for climbing at MIT.

For more information, contact Rachel DeLucas (shraquel@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.01 – Microbiology Graduate Retreat

This annual retreat brings together graduate students and faculty from a variety of departments who are part of the Microbiology graduate program.

For more information contact Bonnielee Whang (microbiology@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.02 – OnCampus Small Group

This series of weekly dinners and other outings is sponsored by the Graduate Christian Fellowship.

For more information contact Melvis Chafac (melvisnc@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.03 – Teaching MIT to Code and Collaborate

This offering by the Sloan Coder Club provides programming ‘crash courses’ for the MIT community.

For more information contact sloancoders.mit.edu or Zachary Hendlin (zgh@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.05 – MIT Chapter of SACNAS

The Grad Student Life Grants will help support the establishment of a chapter of the Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (SACNAS) at MIT.

For more information contact Markita Landry (markita@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.06 – Scientists are Awesome

A video competition advertising exciting research going on at MIT.

For more information contact Zoya Bylinskii (zoya@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.08 – Off the Charts

A new science seminar and professional development series for students in Earth Science and in the MIT-WHOI Joint Program.

For more information contact Alice Alpert (aalpert@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.09 – GSC Coffee Hour

Bi-weekly coffee hour for graduate students, featuring games, drinks, and food.

For more information contact Sven Schlumpberger (schlusve@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.10 – New Economy @ MIT Field Trips

Student research series, workshops, and field trips on the “new economy” movement.

For more information contact Maggie Tishman (mtishman@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.11 – DUSP Women

Career development workshops and other activities for women in the Department of Urban Studies and Planning (DUSP).

For more information contact Dara Yaskil (dyaskil@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.12 – MITimprov

Twice-monthly improv workshops for different departments or student groups.

For more information contact Caroline Howe (howe@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.15 – Applied Physics Club

A club and seminar series for people interested in Applied Physics.

For more information contact Andrew Dane (aedane@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.16 – UrbanAfrica Speaker Series

Speaker series focused on the eradication of poverty in Sub-Saharan Africa.

For more information contact Devanne Brookins (devanneb@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.18 – Monthly MIT Veterans Meetup

Monthly meeting of veterans in the MIT community, held at the Muddy Charles.

For more information contact Eric Victor (evictor@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.21 – Ballroom Dance Workshop

Dancing workshop led by world-renowned dance champions.

For more information contact Benjamin Moss (benm@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.22 – Software Carpentry Bootcamp

Two-day workshop to teach discipline-specific computational skills and programming to students in the Civil and Environmental Engineering and Computation for Design

and Optimization graduate programs.

For more information contact Alison Hoyt (ahoyt@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.24 – Monthly Community Lunch

Monthly luncheon featuring a discussion and tasting of different cultural foods, hosted by officers of the Black Graduate Students Association.

For more information contact Kelvin Frazier (frazier@mit.edu)

 

RFP13.26 – Open Style Lab

Three-person teams of MIT students engineer fashion/clothing solutions for people with specific medical conditions.

For more information contact Grace Teo (graceslt@mit.edu) or Cheryl Cui (cherylc@mit.edu)