Graduate Policies & Procedures

Graduate administrators

In departments and degree-granting programs, the graduate administrator serves as the key representative responsible for a broad array of services and resources for graduate students. Responsibilities generally include the following areas:

  • Admissions and orientation
  • Registration
  • Grade reporting
  • Advising and counseling
  • Class schedules
  • Financial appointments
  • Policy implementation
  • Corporate recruiting
  • Thesis processing
  • Degree lists and graduation

Please do not hesitate to contact individuals at the addresses provided, or either of the facilitators of the Graduate Administrators Roundtable, a group that works closely with the Dean for Graduate Education.

This material was last updated in August 2015. For future updates, please contact the office at odge@mit.edu.

Department Name Role Email Room Phone
1 – Civil and Environmental Engineering Kiley Clapper kclapper@mit.edu 1-290 253-7119
2 – Mechanical Engineering Leslie Regan megradoffice@mit.edu 1-112 253-2291
2N – Naval Program Weston Gray wesgray@mit.edu 5-317 253-4339
Joe Harbour jharbour@mit.edu 5-317 253-4341
3 – Materials Science & Engineering Angelita Mireles angelita@mit.edu 6-107 253-3302
4 – Architecture Cynthia Stewart Admissions & Masters stewart@mit.edu 7-337 253-4408
Renee Caso PhD yammie@mit.edu 7-337 253-7792
5 – Chemistry Jennifer Weisman  jweisman@mit.edu 6-205 253-1845
6 – Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Kathleen McCoy Admissions & Financial Aid  mccoy_k@mit.edu 38-444 253-4605
Janet Fischer PhD/SM Registration & Theses jfischer@mit.edu 38-444 253-4648
Anne Hunter Master in Engineering anneh@mit.edu 38-476 253-4654
7 – Biology Janice Chang jdchang@mit.edu 68-120 253-7344
8 – Physics Catherine Modica cmodica@mit.edu 4-315 253-4842
9 – Brain and Cognitive Sciences Kris Kipp  kipp@mit.edu 46-2005 253-5741
10 – Chemical Engineering Suzanne Maguire Roundtable Facilitator easterly@mit.edu 66-366 253-4577
11 – Urban Studies and Planning Sandy Wellford wellford@mit.edu 7-346 A 253-4409
12 – Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences Vicki McKenna vsm@mit.edu 54-910 253-3380
14 – Economics Eva Konomi Admissions and financial aid evako@mit.edu E19-717 253-8787
Gary King Registration and theses gking@mit.edu E19-715 253-0951
15 – Management Dan Gormley Masters dgormley@mit.edu E48-521 324-7579
Hillary Ross PhD hross@mit.edu E48-561 253-8957
Debra Luchanin MFin dluchan@mit.edu E48-557 253-4879
Marc O’Mansky Fellows Program moman@mit.edu E48-584 253-3733
Chanh Phan MSMS cqphan@mit.edu E48-553 253-0622
Maura Herson MBA mherson@mit.edu 33-202A 253-0043
16 – Aeronautics and Astronautics Beth Marois bethamar@mit.edu 33-202A 253-0043
Meghan Pepin interim through Oct 2015 mjpepin@mit.edu 37-461 253-2608
17 – Political Science Susan Twarog twarog@mit.edu E53-467 253-8336
18 – Mathematics Barbara Peskin  bpeskin@mit.edu E18-369F 253-2416
20 – Biological Engineering Dalia Fares dalia@mit.edu 16-267 253-5804
21W – Program in Science Writing Shannon Larkin slarkin@mit.edu 14N-338 252-5036
22 – Nuclear Science & Engineering Clare Egan cegan@mit.edu 24-102 253-3814
24 – Linguistics and Philosophy Jen Purdy purdy@mit.edu 32-D812 253-9372
ACT – Art, Culture, & Technology Marion Cunningham marionoc@mit.edu E15-209 324-6076
Advanced Study Program Tish Miller tschill@mit.edu E48-401 258-5624
CDO – Computation for Design & Optimization Kate Nelson kpnelson@mit.edu 35-329B 253-3725
CMS – Comparative Media Studies Shannon Larkin slarkin@mit.edu 14N-338 452-5036
CRE – Center for Real Estate Patricia Nesti, interim contact tnesti@mit.edu 9-343 253-8308
CSB – Computational & Systems Biology  Jacqueline Carota Roundtable Facilitator csbphd@mit.edu  68-230A 324-4144
CSE – Computational Science and Engineering Kate Nelson kpnelson@mit.edu 35-329B 253-3725
HST – Health Sciences and Technology  Laurie Ward Financial Aid appts, PhD Admissions  laurie@mit.edu  E25-518  253-3609
 Traci Anderson Registration & Theses tanderso@mit.edu  E25-518  253-7470
IDSS – Institute for Data Systems & Society (formerly ESD) Elizabeth Milnes emilnes@mit.edu E40-367 253-1182
Barbara DeLaBarre TPP barbarad@mit.edu E40-371 452-3187
 LGO Patti Eames LGO Fellows program peames@mit.edu E40-315 253-1063
MAS – Media Arts & Sciences Linda Peterson lindap@mit.edu E15-422 253-5114
MICRO – Interdepartmental Microbiology Bonnie Lee Whang microbiology@mit.edu 68-139 324-0055
ORC – Operations Research Center Laura Rose lrose@mit.edu E40-107 253-9303
SCM  Kristen Greco  kgreco@mit.edu E40-359 324-6564
SDM  Bill Foley SDM Registration & Theses wfoley@mit.edu  E40-315G 258-0291
STS – Science, Technology, and Society Karen Gardner kgardner@mit.edu E51-163 253-9759
Joint Program with the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Ronni Schwartz mspiggy@mit.edu 54-820 253-7544