Graduate Policies & Procedures

Graduate administrators

In departments and degree-granting programs, the graduate administrator serves as the key representative responsible for a broad array of services and resources for graduate students. Responsibilities generally include the following areas:

  • Admissions and orientation
  • Registration
  • Grade reporting
  • Advising and counseling
  • Class schedules
  • Financial appointments
  • Policy implementation
  • Corporate recruiting
  • Thesis processing
  • Degree lists and graduation

Please do not hesitate to contact individuals at the addresses provided, or either of the facilitators of the Graduate Administrators Roundtable, a group that works closely with the Dean for Graduate Education.

This material was last updated in April 2014. For future updates, please contact the office at odge@mit.edu.

Department Name Role Email Room Phone
1 – Civil and Environmental Engineering TBA 1-290 253-9723
2 – Mechanical Engineering Leslie Regan megradoffice@mit.edu 1-112 253-2291
3 – Materials Science & Engineering Angelita Mireles angelita@mit.edu 6-107 253-3302
4 – Architecture Cynthia Stewart Admissions & Masters stewart@mit.edu 7-337 253-4408
Renee Caso PhD yammie@mit.edu 7-337 253-7792
5 – Chemistry Jennifer Weisman Roundtable Facilitator  jweisman@mit.edu 6-205 253-1845
6 – Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Kathleen McCoy Admissions & Financial Aid  mccoy_k@mit.edu 38-444 253-4605
Janet Fischer Registration & Theses jfischer@mit.edu 38-444 253-4648
Anne Hunter Masters in Engineering anneh@mit.edu 38-476 253-4654
7 – Biology Janice Chang jdchang@mit.edu 68-120 253-7344
8 – Physics Catherine Modica cmodica@mit.edu 4-315 253-4842
9 – Brain and Cognitive Sciences Kris Kipp  kipp@mit.edu 46-2005 253-5741
10 – Chemical Engineering Suzanne Maguire easterly@mit.edu 66-366 253-4577
11 – Urban Studies and Planning Sandy Wellford wellford@mit.edu 7-346 A 253-4409
12 – Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences Vicki McKenna vsm@mit.edu 54-911B 253-3380
14 – Economics Eva Konomi evako@mit.edu E19-717 253-8787
15 – Management Tara Walor Masters twalor@mit.edu E48-521 253-0559
Hillary Ross PhD hross@mit.edu E48-561 253-8957
16 – Aeronautics and Astronautics Beth Marois bethamar@mit.edu 33-202A 253-0043
17 – Political Science Susan Twarog twarog@mit.edu E53-467 253-8336
18 – Mathematics Barbara Peskin  bpeskin@mit.edu E18-369F 253-2416
20 – Biological Engineering Dalia Fares dalia@mit.edu 16-267 253-5804
21W – Program in Science Writing Shannon Larkin slarkin@mit.edu 14N-108 253-6668
22 – Nuclear Science & Engineering Clare Egan cegan@mit.edu 24-102 253-3814
24 – Linguistics and Philosophy Jen Purdy Roundtable Facilitator purdy@mit.edu 32-D808 253-9372
ACT – Art, Culture, & Technology Marion Cunningham marionoc@mit.edu W31-310 253-2680
CDO – Computation for Design & Optimization Kate Nelson kpnelson@mit.edu 35-329B 253-3725
CMS – Comparative Media Studies Shannon Larkin slarkin@mit.edu 14N-108 253-6668
CRE – Center for Real Estate Maria Vieira mvieira@mit.edu 9-343 258-5672
CSE – Computational Science and Engineering Kate Nelson kpnelson@mit.edu 35-329B 253-3725
CSB – Computational & Systems Biology Jacqueline Carota csbphd@mit.edu 68-230A  324-4144
ESD – Engineering Systems Division Elizabeth Milnes emilnes@mit.edu E40-249 253-1182
Barbara DeLaBarre TPP barbarad@mit.edu E40-371 452-3187
Jane Deutsch LGO, Admissions & career development deutschj@mit.edu E40-315 324-2001
Patti Eames LGO Fellows program peames@mit.edu E40-315 253-1063
Bill Foley SDM Registration & Theses wfoley@mit.edu E40-315G 258-0291
Amal Elalam SDM Admissions & Financial Aid aelalam@mit.edu E40-315 253-3659
Mark Colvin SCM (Global Centers) mcolvin@mit.edu E40-355 253-6538
Jennifer Ademi SCM jademi@mit.edu E40-357 324-6564
HST – Health Sciences and Technology Laurie Ward Financial Aid appts, PhD Admissions laurie@mit.edu E25-518 253-3609
Traci Anderson Registration & Theses tanderso@mit.edu E25-518 253-7470
MAS – Media Arts & Sciences Linda Peterson lindap@mit.edu E15-422 253-5114
MICRO – Interdepartmental Microbiology Bonnie Lee Whang microbiology@mit.edu 68-139 324-0055
ORC – Operations Research Center Laura Rose lrose@mit.edu E40-107 253-9303
STS – Science, Technology, and Society Karen Gardner kgardner@mit.edu E51-163 253-9759
Joint Program with the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Ronni Schwartz mspiggy@mit.edu 54-911 253-7544