Graduate Policies & Procedures

Committee on Graduate Programs

The Committee on Graduate Programs shall consist of six elected faculty members, the Associate Chair of the Faculty, two graduate student members, and ex officiis, the Dean for Graduate Education, the Vice President for Research, and the Registrar (or their designated representatives). The Chair of the Faculty shall appoint the Chair of the Committee from the group consisting of the six elected faculty members. The Chair of the Committee and the Dean for Graduate Education shall jointly appoint one departmental or program graduate administrator to the committee

The Committee shall exercise general oversight of graduate educational programs and of graduate student policies.

Among the duties and responsibilities of the Committee shall be:

Evaluating proposals for the adoption of new graduate degree programs and making recommendations to the Faculty concerning these programs.

Evaluating proposals for the termination of existing programs with the aim of ensuring that (1) students currently enrolled in the program are able to complete their degree requirements; and that (2) departments whose curricula are affected have been given reasonable notice of termination; and reporting to the Faculty on the steps that are being taken in the process of termination.

Considering proposals that would change or modify general policies related to graduate programs and graduate students and making recommendations to the Faculty.

Encouraging best practices for graduate educational programs, including collecting and disseminating such practices.

Serving as the standing Faculty advisory body to the Dean for Graduate Education and the Vice President for Research on policies related to graduate students.

The Committee shall retain responsibility for:

  • evaluating academic performance of graduate students, including the issuance of formal warnings and denials of further registration
  • approving requests for minor departures from general requirements for advanced degrees
  • approving proposals for changes in a graduate level subject of instruction
  • cooperating with the Committee on Academic Performance in making recommendations to the Faculty on such matters as minor changes in the calendar, examinations, and grading
  • recommending to the Faculty, at the conclusion of the two regular terms and of the end of the summer session, candidates for advanced degrees

The Committee may delegate responsibility for the above to the Dean for Graduate Education. The Dean also chairs the Graduate Academic Performance Group (GAPG), which monitors minimum academic standards for graduate students and special students in accordance with the rules and regulations of the faculty. The GAPG operates with the authority of the CGP.

Current membership (with appointment end dates)


Donca Steriade, Chair (June 30, 2017)
Linguistics and Philosophy

Roberto Fernandez (June 30, 2017)
Sloan School of Management

Patrick Jaillet (June 30, 2018)
Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

Leslie Kolodziejski, Associate Chair of the Faculty (June 30, 2017)
Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

John C. Marshall (June 30, 2016)
Earth, Atmospheric & Planetary Sciences

Christopher A. Voigt  (June 30, 2016)
Biological Engineering

P. Christopher Zegras (June 30, 2018)
Urban Studies & Planning

Ex officio

Renee Caso, Graduate Administrator

Christine Ortiz, Dean for Graduate Education
Chancellor’s Office

Blanche Staton, Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Education
Offfice of the Dean for Graduate Education

Designated representative

Peter Hayes, Associate Registrar
Office of the Registrar

Graduate students

Zoya Bylinskii (June 30, 2016)
Ran Li (June 30, 2016)

Staff to committee

Jessica Landry
Office of the Dean for Graduate Education