Graduate Student Housing Working Group

Provost Chris A. Kaiser and Chancellor W. Eric Grimson have implemented one of the key recommendations that emerged from the report of the Task Force on Community Engagement in 2030 Planning. The Task Force, led by Tom Kochan, the George Maverick Bunker Professor of Management in the MIT Sloan School of Management, was charged in its initial phase with reviewing MIT’s proposal to redevelop Institute properties in the east campus and Kendall Square areas.

The Task Force’s report recommended that MIT proceed with the proposed Kendall redevelopment by advancing its zoning petition before the City of Cambridge; implementing a comprehensive effort to imagine gateway opportunities at the intersection of the campus and Kendall Square in conjunction with an east campus planning review; and undertaking a study of housing needs, particularly among the graduate student population.

Provost Chris A. Kaiser and Chancellor W. Eric Grimson have charged the Working Group as follows. “MIT’s strength comes from the high quality of its people and in taking a leadership role in developing the future of the residential research university. In this regard, MIT needs to do the utmost to maintain competitiveness in recruiting the best graduate students and providing a rich and engaging residential experience for them. This Working Group is asked to:

  1. Evaluate the ways in which the graduate student housing needs are currently met, and identify strengths and weaknesses in our current approach in the context of graduate student recruiting and satisfaction.
  2. Recommend ways by which the graduate student housing needs might be best served into the future in order to maintain competitiveness. Any recommendations which require new resources should be weighed against the need for other resources to support the graduate student population.”

Phillip Clay, former Chancellor, Class of 1922 Professor of Urban Studies and Planning (Chair)
John Ochsendorf, Class of 1942 Associate Professor of Building Technology and Civil and Environmental Engineering
Ezra Zuckerman, Nanyang Technological University Professor of Technological Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Strategic Management
Jaime Peraire, H.N. Slater Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics and head of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Steve Bell, Professor of Biology 
Christine Ortiz, Dean for Graduate Education (ex officio)
Nathaniel Schafheimer, Graduate student representative
Kevin Cedrone, Graduate student representative 
Andrea Dubin, Graduate student representative 
Lydia Snover, Institutional Research section in the Office of the Provost 
Jagruti Patel, Institutional Research section in the Office of the Provost 
Peter Cummings, Office of the Dean for Student Life (Staff to the Working Group)

A draft report from the Working Group was made available on January 16, 2014.